Justice Kagan Receives Gold Medal for Distinguished Service

by | Feb 4, 2020 | Alum Highlights

Supreme Court Associate Justice Elena Kagan ’77 was named the 2020 recipient of the New York State Bar Association’s (NYSBA) Gold Medal for Distinguished Service in the Law. Presented annually, the award is given to a lawyer who has achieved “outstanding legal accomplishments and holds an active interest in and positive influence upon the profession.”

The NYSBA first issued its Gold Medal award in 1952. Prior recipients include former U.S. Attorney General Eric Holder (2012); former New York County Attorney General Robert Morgenthau (2011); and Supreme Court Justices Sandra Day O’Connor (2008), Ruth Bader Ginsburg (1995), and Thurgood Marshall (1976).

Justice Kagan received the award at a gala dinner held on January 30, 2020 at the American Museum of Natural History.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates!.

You have Successfully Subscribed!